Requiem for a soup

I’m a soup-making fiend!

This morning I made mushroom soup, also by adapting one of Anne-Catherine Bley’s recipes, to take to a brunch party along with the leftovers of the carrot-ginger soup.  These recipes are more of a method where you start with onions or shallots cooking in olive oil, add a vegetable you like and some broth or water, cook until tender, puree, and serve – sometimes you add the creamy substance (coconut milk) during the simmer, sometimes you stir it in at the end (cream or milk).  Her squash and/or pumpkin soups are served with a crisp piece of bacon to use as an edible stirrer.  If you can make one, you can make them all.  Cauliflower leek?  Broccoli puree?  Tomato ginger?  You’ll be seeing a lot of them in this space in coming weeks because they are so simple, cheap, and satisfyingly rich-but-healthy.  Keep reading for recipe and sad story.

The mushroom soup took about 30 minutes, and required:

  • 1 tbsp butter + 1 tbsp olive oil, heated in a heavy pan
  • 2 shallots, chopped and sweated in the hot fat
  • 1.25 lbs mushrooms, washed and sliced, added to the shallots and stirred well, cooking for about 5 minutes
  • A splash of Marsala wine (substitute any white, rose, or cooking sherry that you have around) and a generous shake of salt and pepper
  • 1.5 cups water, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup cream
  • Bring to a boil and then simmer for 15 minutes
  • Let cool slightly and puree in a blender or with a stick blender until you have savory, velvety perfection.

So I made the soup, making my house smell amazing in the process, packed it into a Tupperware, brought it to brunch, unveiled it, and somehow dropped it on the floor without the lid being secured, so soup splashed all over my shirt, my jeans, my shoes, and my friend’s floor and cabinets.  Tragedy.  I licked the soup that ran down my arm off my arm, and my friends drank the few swallows that remained in the container, and we agreed that I should make that soup again soon.

6 responses to “Requiem for a soup

  1. hmmm. I love soup and soup weather. Your mushroom soup sounds great. I looking to do something with the sweet potatoes that came in our CSA.

    • With sweet potatoes, I’d do something more similar to the carrot-ginger soup:

      1 large yellow onion, sauteed in olive oil
      Add peeled chunks of sweet potato, salt, pepper
      1/3 cup of ginger grated or peeled and finely diced
      Pinch of cumin
      Pinch of curry powder
      Add some water or broth and use coconut milk or almond milk to make it creamy
      Simmer until potato is tender
      Puree

      My other favorite thing to do with sweet potatoes is to make a chili with black beans, tomatoes, chunks of sweet potato, green peppers, onions, chili powder, and stir in a bit of chipotle pepper canned with adobo at the end for heat.

  2. Oh that’s a sad story! And I don’t even like mushrooms!

  3. Oh, man. How sad of all of you to have (mostly) missed out on the soup. Especially a delicious-looking mushroom soup like this.

    I hope your other soup was a hit with everyone as well.

  4. you should use a weight loss calculator

    • [sarcasm] Really? I’ve never heard of weight loss, or diets, or calculators. Please explain to me all about that. [/sarcasm]

Leave a Reply

