Green eggplant = not awesome.

I bought some green eggplant at the market today.  Having no idea what to do with it when I got home, I decided to make a roasted vegetable medley for dinner by chopping up some veggies and tossing them with olive oil, salt, pepper, and a little thyme and roasting them for 20 minutes in a 400 degree oven.   So far, so good.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

I also made Red Salad – a mix of radishes, tomatoes, red onion tossed with salt, a splash of red wine vinegar, and a small drizzle of olive oil.  And I grilled a 6 oz. goat shoulder chop acquired at last week’s market from C&D Family Farms, salted and rubbed with a little thyme and cooked rare.

Verdict: Goat was lean, tender, juicy, delicious.  Red salad is my summer staple, and I eat it for breakfast or lunch probably 3 days/week.  Roasted vegetables were great, except for the eggplant.  The taste was nothing special, and the texture was mushy – reminiscent of okra, one of the few vegetables I loathe.  I picked all the eggplant out and ate the rest.

I have four more of those suckers lurking in my fridge, so if anyone has tastier ideas, please let me know!

5 responses to “Green eggplant = not awesome.

  1. You think the green eggplant might work for baba-ghanouj?

    Only way I’ve had okra was fried, and I just can’t complain about much that is fried.

    I have a GREAT recipe for a salad with radishes, mint, orange and red onions–super yummy combo.

    I love my tomatoes with corn and arugula. I beleive we have expressed our mutual love of arugula. 🙂 On pizza, in salads, or mixed in with pasta and goat cheese….yumilicious.

    • I might try to make some baba ghanouj, and if it doesn’t work for that then I might give up on green eggplant.

      I first encountered okra in the dining hall at Georgetown, and immediately filed it under “Slimy. Not a food.”

      Arugula is my peppery friend. With its help, I have perfected the breakfast sandwich:

      Ciabatta, sliced and spread with a little goat cheese + a fistful of arugula + an over-medium egg + salt & pepper + FOOD IN FACE

  2. I haven’t run into green eggplant before. Sounds like it was pretty similar to the normal varieties though. I bookmarked this eggplant pasta sauce a while back, but haven’t gotten around to trying it out yet (mostly because Rachael hates eggplant in all forms.) Might be worth a shot?

    http://www.gourmet.com/food/2009/06/an-eggplant-confession

    • Thanks, I might try it out! I also bought a giant purple eggplant because it was so, so pretty, so there will be a lot of eggplant chez Peepas this week.

  3. Pingback: Green eggplant = shows improvement. « The Girl Who Ate Everything

Leave a Reply

