Food Diary – Weekend Roundup

I ran out of camera battery and ate away from home a lot over the past few days, so only documented a few things.

Thursday breakfast, shown above, is granola with white nectarines & blueberries.  I really need to start cleaning my counters off before photographing them and posting things on the Internet in case my mom starts reading this blog and I shame the family.

Thursday lunch was a spinach salad with bacon & homemade vinaigrette.

Pork Lady sells a product called “Better Than Bacon”, out of a leaner cut of pork that she smokes and treats like bacon.  It is not better than bacon, because it doesn’t have enough fat to carmelize and become crispy – it’s not a “eating bacon”, it’s a “put it in recipes that call for bacon but don’t need the bacon to be crisp or fatty” bacon. Like Quiche Lorraine or carbonara or spinach salad. But not a BLT.

To make the vinaigrette, I use 1 clove of garlic + 3 tsp olive oil + 1 tsp balsamic vinegar + a pinch of sugar + 1/2 teaspoon of mustard + salt & pepper.  Salad is fresh spinach, tomatoes, red onion, radish, and a hard boiled egg sliced in wedges.

Thursday night I went to the weekly film screening (The Weight of Water, dir. Kathryn Bigelow) at a friend’s house, and she roasted pork loin and served it with salad and a twice-baked potato.

Friday:  I ate salad at Cafe Mediterra with my film boys and ordered Mexican for dinner.  Mmmmm…enchiladas verdes.

Saturday: I made a beautiful omelet.  But when I went to sprinkle salt on it, the “pour” hole was open in the lid and a mountian of salt poured onto my beautiful omelet and I had to throw it away.  So I ate a sandwich, and then junk food during another film screening party (Every version of The Maltese Falcon), and then sushi.

Sunday: Camera batteries purchased!

For brunch I had a mango bubble tea and some spring rolls at Nhu Lan Bakery, around the corner on Lawrence.

And you already know about tonight’s adventures with Tofu Mee Maw.

Right this moment my roommate is grilling me a bratwurst.  Life is good.

3 responses to “Food Diary – Weekend Roundup

  1. robiewankenobie

    someday before i die, i will learn to make a decent spring roll. as God as my witness, i will.

    • They fall under the category of much Asian cuisine: So inexpensive to buy that it costs more to make them yourself!

  2. robiewankenobie

    i can do the fried ones quite well, but the rice paper ones never are right…can’t quite figure out why…

Leave a Reply

