Market Haul and The Experiment So Far

I picked up some balsamic vinegar & Billy Blue goat cheese from Provenance, and then stopped by the market for shallots, the first parsnips of the year, tomatoes, pork, ground lamb, blueberries (in the blue bag), white nectarines, tomatoes, cucumbers, baby greens, and beets.  And beet greens – when I bought my beets I mentioned how much I appreciated that they keep the greens on, and the farmer said “Hang on a second” and came back with a big fistful of the greens that some other customer had asked him to trim from her beets and slid them into my bag.  Thanks, nice Farmer!

I didn’t buy eggs this week, which is one of the ways that I can tell this experiment is working.  I am a visual person.  Two years ago, I could tell I was ordering too many things from Amazon and Zappos because of the cardboard box fort that began to form around my desk – it took a visual accumulation to indicate that there was a problem.  This summer I’ve been a bit underemployed, and so I’ve been relying on relatively inexpensive eggs to be my primary protein source.  Seeing eggs recur over and over in my photos tells me:  Go easy on the eggs, and I will, just as soon as I finish off the 3/4 of a quiche that’s in the fridge.

I want to take a camera with me next week, but I have a faculty meeting at school, but it’s on my list to take a bunch of photos of the market and see if I can get some portraits of the farmers.  To tide you over, click here to see the photos I took last year at the local market in Paris, where I first developed the habit of photographing my grocery shopping.

I wonder if he stocks the Slap-Chop or the Sham-Wow?

7 responses to “Market Haul and The Experiment So Far

  1. Farmers market farmers are awesome. Sunday we got a great deal on tomatoes in bulk (laying in sauce for the winter). We hauled away about 40 lbs at a supermarket price.

    • I’m jealous! I love seeing the farmers every week and talking about how to cook things (The guy who sold me the parsnips recommends slicing them thin and carmelizing them in a pan with shallots & parsley).

      I’m not set up to can or freeze much yet, but in my next place I will acquire both a chest freezer and mad canning skillz.

      • Hot-water canning (for jams and tomato sauces) is easy, you just need a big pot, jars, lids, and tongs. Scoop stuff into the jars, lid them, stick them into a big pot of hot water, and rolling boil for X minutes (depending on what you’re canning). Then yoink them and let them cool. This year we’ve already made some sauce, some fig/strawberry jam, and some blackberry jam (figs and blackberries from the yard). We’ll likely also make more apple butter come the fall.

        Non-acid foods are a different story and need a pressure canner, which we’re not set up with yet.

    • Neat, that sounds less complicated than what I was picturing, though storage space is an issue in this apt. Care to share your sauce recipe, perhaps in a guest post?

      • Um, sure, though i have to warn that it’s not so much a “recipe” as a “few rules of thumb and some advice”. Oh, and i continue to change my process over time, depending on the tools i have available (e.g. recently incorporated the all-important food mill into the process).

  2. robiewankenobie

    beet greens are so under appreciated. the woman at our co-op gives me some whenever she has them on hand.

    • Cooked I prefer them to spinach, though I’m not so in love with them raw. They are…mellow. Mellow is the right word.

Leave a Reply

