Greek yogurt with blueberry sauce

Yogurt may be the official food of women, and I really, really tried to like it for a long time, but then I came to the only logical conclusion:  Popular processed brands like Dannon, Yoplait, and all the “fruit on the bottom!”  yogurts are bullshit.

Check out the nutrition label for Dannon Mixed Fruit With Berries:

INGREDIENTS:
CULTURED GRADE A LOW FAT MILK, STRAWBERRIES, FRUCTOSE SYRUP, SUGAR, BLUEBERRIES, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, BLACKBERRIES, CONTAINS LESS THAN 1% OF MODIFIED CORN STARCH, RASPBERRIES, PECTIN, KOSHER GELATIN, NATURAL FLAVOR, SODIUM PHOSPHATE, MALIC ACID, ELDERBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE (FOR COLOR), CALCIUM PHOSPHATE. CONTAINS ACTIVE YOGURT CULTURES INCLUDING L. ACIDOPHILUS.

Let me translate:  We used lowfat milk, so now it doesn’t taste like anything, so we had to add back in all this crappy sugar and corn syrup to make it taste like something, then we repackaged it as a health food! Gross.  And I always hated the soupy texture and over-sweetness so I never ate it.

Then I moved to  Eastern Europe during college, and I had a yogurt revelation.  Yogurt is supposed to be a rich, satisfying, creamy food, and it’s supposed to be strained until it’s nice and thick. You eat it with cucumber and garlic mixed in as a summer dip or garnish to grilled meat (Tzitziki) or with fruit in its own syrup or preserves for breakfast, but you don’t need to add a ton of sugar.  The ingredient label on my Fage 2% Greek Yogurt says:  Grade A Pasteurized Milk, Live Active Yogurt Cultures.

Blueberries are my favorite fruit – I like them raw by the fistful, and in pancakes and muffins and danishes and pies and tarts and cobblers.  I also love to turn them into a sauce, which is especially handy when they start to get soft and wrinkly – the cooking “rescues” them.  This recipe works pretty well, though I use less sugar and kind of eyeball everything else since I’ve made it so often.  Note: If you don’t like blueberries, this sauce recipe would work equally well for sliced peaches, blackberries, rasberries, strawberries, etc.

I do doctor the yogurt slightly before I eat it as a sweet/breakfast food/dessert kind of way :  Yogurt + honey + chopped peaches + pecans or walnuts make a great breakfast.  Today I added a few drops of vanilla extract and a pinch of sugar to sweeten it slightly, since I keep the blueberries on the tart side.

My name is Jennifer, I am 35,  and I like yogurt.

5 responses to “Greek yogurt with blueberry sauce

  1. Sweet. I didn’t even see this before I wrote my last comment.

    Perhaps I would have been nicer to blueberries if I had.

    • The blueberry forgives you! Think about that sauce with sliced nectarines & a little cinnamon, or strawberries and a little mint. Now I want more yogurt.

  2. I feel that eating a blueberry is like eating an eyeball, unless it’s encased in bread.

    BUT: I am writing to report that I bought a Yogurt Gadget from King Arthur Flour (and some powdered starter), and so I have been making my own yogurt for the past 2 years. It’s soft and tangy, and now I won’t touch store-bought stuff. I eat it with granola on top, or with fruit stirred in it, or whizzed into lassi. It’s easy peasy and I love it forever.

  3. Mine is derived from Julie Sahni’s Classical Indian Cooking (http://www.amazon.com/Classic-Indian-Cooking-Julie-Sahni/dp/0688037216):

    Dump a container of yogurt into a blender (mine are 6 oz).

    Add 3 TB sugar (she says 6; I use demarara)

    Add a splash of rosewater

    Add a skooch of heavy cream (seriously, just a dribble; you can leave it out, but it adds a really nice bit of sweet richness)

    Add 8-10 ice cubes and blend until frothy

    Drink and dance

Leave a Reply

