Hello, Ramen. We meet again.

Money is tight this summer, so I’m trying to use up all the things that are in my cabinets.  Hello, Ramen – I don’t know when or why I bought you, but that hardly matters, does it?  I’ve been in grad school for…a long time.  And you were always there, lurking, waiting for the day I’d cave in and eat you.  But I am older and wiser now.  I have ways of dealing with you.

I cooked the ramen noodles and drained them (threw away the spice packet).  I heated some olive oil in a pot and added a bunch of chopped garlic and crushed red pepper.  Then I threw in some beet greens sauteed them.  When they were wilted, I tossed the noodles in the pan and mixed everything together and finished with a few drops of sesame oil.

Earlier today, I put the second pork chop from last night’s dinner into marinate in a mix of soy sauce, garlic, fresh ginger, and orange juice, and while the greens and noodles were cooking I grilled it and turned it into dinner.

I ate it, and it was pretty good.   There was another helping of noodles in the pot, and I put them on my plate and started eating them and then said “Wait a second.  I am pleasantly full and that was totally the right amount of food. Why am I eating more?  Very sneaky, Ramen!” and I threw the rest away.  Which is wasteful, but if there’s one food you can throw away entirely without guilt, it’s Ramen.  Part of changing the way I eat is to try to be more intuitive about eating – paying attention to when I’m satisfied, paying attention to whether I’m hungry or just bored or sad or have time on my hands or passed a cupcake store and happened to have money in my pocket.  So I consulted my innards and they said “We’ve had enough Ramen, thanks, but maybe something sweet would be nice?”

So I had dessert:

Nectarines, a bit of blue cheese, and some cinnamon-cardamom herbal tea.

2 responses to “Hello, Ramen. We meet again.

  1. You so totally rock. I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying your blog. You are an incredible cook and writer (well, and person too). 🙂

Leave a Reply

