Chicken with black bean sauce and cellophane noodles

Tonight P. and I made dinner, continuing our game of “We’re poor. What’s already in the house?  Let’s cook that.”  My cabinet unearthed a package of cellophane noodles and a packet of black bean sauce.  We had the required shallots and ginger in the house, and needed to pick up only chicken, scallions, and a few pea-pods at the grocery store.

Recipe for Chicken with Black Bean Sauce & Cellophane Noodles:

  • Step 1:  Cut up chicken.  Cook it in canola oil with a few slices of ginger, a splash of rice wine vinegar, and a little bit of soy sauce until cooked through.
  • Step 2:  Look at noodle packet for cooking directions.  They are entirely in Japanese.  See the numbers “3-5” in the Japenese instructions.  Decide that means “submerge in boiling water or broth for 3-5 minutes.”  Boil water.
  • Step 3:  While P. cooks chicken and watches boiling noodle-water, chop up 6 shallots, 2 slices of ginger, and 2 green onions.
  • Step 4:  Take cooked chicken out of wok and put in bowl.  Put noodles in water. Throw ginger, shallots, pea-pods & scallions into wok with black bean sauce packet.  Stir everything together. Watch pea-pods turn bright green.
  • Step 4:  Drain noodles, toss them in the wok with everything else.
  • Step 5:  Throw some chili-garlic sauce on that and apply to face.

Notes/Variations:

  • Servings:  4
  • Calories:  Who cares
  • Taste:  Delicious
  • I am not in love boneless-skinless chicken breast.  I overdosed on it when I first learned to cook, and in its raw form it makes me gag, so P. has to cut it up whenever we eat it – I won’t touch it.  I think you have to doctor it a lot – drown it in a sauce or marinate it in something with very strong flavors – before it really tastes like anything.  So I’m thinking I will make this recipe again, but I’ll make it with firm tofu next time, since the chicken isn’t really adding anything to the mix except an inoffensive protein source and tofu is cheaper and more fun to cut up.
3 responses to “Chicken with black bean sauce and cellophane noodles

  1. This looks yummy, and not just because I am upstairs surfing the web instead of downstairs making dinner. :~)

    I second the idea of using tofu. Chicken has fallen out of favor at our place, too, since SO used to eat _way_ too much of it when he did Atkins years ago. The kids and I still enjoy it, but as you noted, it really needs a marinade or good sauce.

    • I’m going to make it for some guests on Sunday with tofu. I’ve decided that boneless/skinless chicken breast is the “why bother?” of meat. Give me chicken thighs or a whole roast chicken or even a drumstick marinated in srichacha and then grilled any day. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: Baked eggs with spinach, tomato, feta, and basil « The Girl Who Ate Everything

Leave a Reply

