Friday: A Tale of Two Dinners

This is what I made for dinner on Friday night – a cucumber, 1/4 a red onion, and a few radishes sliced, salted, and sprinkled with rice vinegar.  Unfortunately, I didn’t taste the cucumber until it was time to dig into the salad, and it was impossibly, horribly bitter.  It happens.   I picked at the radishes and tossed the rest.  No problem, I could piggypack on P’s plan to order pizza from I Monelli! and eat a slice or two.  But he didn’t know this secret plan, and he ordered a small and ate it all up. 

So it’s 10:00 on a Friday night and I’m hungry and cranky and I have $6 in my pocket and all the food in my house will require a good 30-40 minutes of preparation and by then I will have turned into a giant cranky toddler.  Wearing my Old Navy shirt and my jeans from Target, I toddled down the block to our local McDonald’s and ordered this:

Whatever, it filled me up and flooded the salt/fat receptors, and that’s about the best thing I could say about it.  In an experiment that is at least as much about improving my photography skills as it is about eating, sad beige food makes for sad beige pictures.

Leave a Reply

