Honey-ginger salmon over udon noodles

I am not Asian.  I have been to Asia once.  I lived near Argyle Street in Chicago for three years and got addicted to odd noodle dishes from joints where roast ducks hang in the windows.   I could go to my local Thai or Vietnamese or Chinese place and get a great bowl of noodles for $7-$10.  But since discovering Mitsuwa I’ve been making my own.  It’s inexpensive, healthy, tastes really good, and while the initial chopping can seem like a chore, once you’ve done it a few times everything comes together pretty quickly.

In no way do I vouch for the “authenticity” of anything I make – I’m cobbling stuff together from Tofu Meemaw, from What’s Cooking Chinese (a very tasty and pretty cookbook where every recipe will call for at least one thing you don’t have in the house, so I adapt a lot), and from a book of low-fat fruit and vegetable recipes I bought in college.  I know that you will probably want some soy sauce, some ginger, some dried red chilis, some rice vinegar, and some sesame oil around.  I know that mushrooms, bok choy, and peapods are good vegetables.  I know that I always forget to get fish sauce any time I am anywhere that carries fish sauce.

For tonight’s dinner, I made a marinade out of a little soy sauce, honey, rice vinegar, and about a tsp of grated fresh ginger.  I covered a six ounce salmon filet with it and let it sit for about 45 minutes.  Then I grilled it on a hot grill pan.

For the noodles:

  • I chopped some garlic and grated more ginger, sliced 10-12 shiitake mushrooms, 3 green onions, and a head of bok choy.
  • I cooked 1/3 pkg of udon noodles in water, and used 1 cup of the water and a boullion cube to make broth.
  • I combined 1/4 tsp of corn starch with 1 tbsp of water into a paste.
  • I heated some oil in a wide-mouthed pot with a lid, and added the garlic, ginger, and 2 dried red chilis, letting everything get friendly for a minute or so.
  • Then I added the mushrooms, tossing frequently.
  • I threw in the cabbage, green onion, and a few splashes of soy sauce and let everything cook for a few minutes.
  • I tossed in the broth, turned the heat down, and covered the pot for a few minutes.
  • At the end I tossed in the corn starch paste and stirred well.  I added the noodles next and let everything cook for one more minute.  I served with the salmon on top and a good 1/2 teaspoon or so of chili-garlic sauce.

I only made one serving of salmon, but the noodles, etc. make about 3-4 meals.  I might add more broth to them for lunch tomorrow and turn them into a soup.  What’s your favorite stir-fry recipe?

8 responses to “Honey-ginger salmon over udon noodles

  1. That looks so fabulous. My 10 yr. old son is peering over my shoulder and insisting I make it tonight.

    Have really been enjoying all your stuff. Glad I found you.

  2. Made this one up on the fly on Monday:

    Sriracha Shrimp

    In a bowl, make a marinade of:
    1/4 – 1/2 cup white wine
    about 1 tbsp sriracha
    about 1-2 tbsp soy sauce

    Put a healthy couple handfuls of peeled raw shrimp in the marinade while you:

    Put on some rice
    Mince some garlic (four cloves for me, the garlic maniac)
    Chop into stirfry bits a bell pepper and half an onion
    Wash some snow peas

    Stirfry your veggies, when the onions are just turning transclucent around the edges, add the shrimp to cook. Do NOT add the rest of the marinade to the pan, toss that out. But when the shrimp are juuuuust about done, splash a little more soy in there and a dollop more sriracha.

    Put over rice and NOM.

    • I will be making that very soon – sounds great!

      Everything’s better with sriracha. Except putting in your contact lenses. That’s not better.

  3. I was missing you….you were gone for a couple days.

  4. My favorite stir fry is fake grilled chicken strips, a head of broccoli, half a red bell pepper, a clove of garlic (minced), and egg noodles. I use Whole Foods Soy Ginger Stir fry sauce. What really gives it some oomph is the chili sesame oil I sprinkle on at the end.

    You’re braver than I am when it comes to tofu… I’m a little afraid to try cooking with it.

    • I think the key to tofu (I’m learning) is to open the package, drain all the water out, put it in the freezer wrapped tightly in foil or plastic for a few days, then take it out and defrost – you get a much firmer texture. And frying it until it is golden brown, or brushing it with sauce and grilling it gives it a better texture than braising – braising just turns it into disgusting beany mush.

Leave a Reply

