Treating myself

Yesterday turned out to be a day of treating myself.

I stopped at Feast for lunch, and had their black bean burger, a cup of soup, and some mango iced tea. The trick is to mash the avocado on top of the burger and eat it with a fork.  The bun is unnecessary. Save yourself for the beany-cheesy goodness.

I stopped into Vive La Femme to search out a dress to wear to an upcoming wedding.  While I had my eye on this (and still might circle back and get it), I ended up with a dark red embroidered dress from their sale rack.

Then I took a long walk up Damen Avenue.  It was a beautiful day and I was wearing comfortable shoes.  Damen has very pretty architecture for such a main road, and it’s fun to watch the neighborhoods change.  Late afternoon is prime dog-walking time, and most dogs can tell when they see me coming that I would very much like to pet them and tell them they are pretty dogs, so between Armitage and Irving Park I petted a French bulldog, three golden retrievers, a cocker spaniel, a hilarious pug, a black lab, and an Australian sheep dog.  I was a bit footsore by the time I hit Lincoln and Montrose, so I stopped into Julius Meinl for some tea the lemon tart you see featured at the top of the post and finished reading Empire Falls, which I enjoyed very much.

Today is gray and rainy, but there are only three more weeks for the Farmer’s Market, so I rallied and picked up the week’s groceries:  eggs, turnips, shallots, garlic, green onions, a yellow onion, lettuce, strawberry jam, tomato, more cinnamon bread, radishes, small potatoes, cheddar, and a small pork shoulder roast that will become carnitas.

3 responses to “Treating myself

  1. That is a damn good black bean burger! 🙂

  2. Yeah for treating yourself. That dress is cute. Take a pic of the one you actually got….sounds lovely.

Leave a Reply

