Linguine with lemon, feta, and basil

The conversation went like this:

“Right now, here in this room, is one of your Christmas presents.”

“Ok?”

“I mean, I plan to get you other stuff, but I saw this and thought of you so I got it, and it’s here right now.”

“Okay…”

“So my question for you is do you want it now or do you want to wait until Christmas?”

I love when two people who like instant gratification find each other.  I’m now the proud owner of Gordon Ramsay’s Cooking for Friends.  The pictures are pretty, the recipes look really tasty, the writing is straightforward, and the author and I have similar feelings on bacon (we’re pro) but the emphasis on fresh, interesting ingredients means that the recipes don’t get weighted down.

P. made me Ramsay’s linguine with feta, lemon, and basil for dinner tonight.  It’s simple, quick, light-tasting, and really awesome.  I’d like to make it for a summer dinner party with little dishes of different kinds of olives all over the table, and a really dry cold white wine.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of fresh or 10 oz of packaged linguine
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup of freshly grated parmesan
  • 1 bunch (lg handful) of fresh basil, leaves only
  • 7 oz crumbled Feta cheese
  • 2 tbsp toasted pine nuts

Cook the pasta until al dente.  Drain it, reserving about 2 tbsp. of the water in the pot.  Return the pasta to the pot and add the olive oil, lemon zest and juice, parmesan, basil, and 3/4 of the crumbled feta.  Toss well and check the seasoning. Divide among warm plates and scatter the remaining feta and the pine nuts over the top.  Serve at once.  Serves 4.

It came out great, like a deconstructed pesto.  So light-tasting that it was hard to stop eating it.  This one will go into the regular rotation.

2 responses to “Linguine with lemon, feta, and basil

  1. wow that sounds like a great way to brighten up a dark winter day too!

    I’m all for instant gratification and opening Xmas gifts early. 🙂

    D

  2. Lovely. Sign me up for that dinner party. I’ll bring the wine.

Leave a Reply

