Tomato soup with citrus and ginger

tomato soup with citrus and ginger

I think I got a variation of this soup recipe from Erica G. originally.  What you need to know:

  • It has few, readily available ingredients and is inexpensive and quick to make.
  • It’s a pretty color and it smells amazing.
  • It freezes well.
  • It’s perfect for right now when oranges are in season and you’re bloated from holiday feasting.

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes
  • zest of two oranges
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 heaping tbsp of fresh grated ginger
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk or heavy cream, to finish

Method:

  • Heat the olive oil in a heavy soup pot.  Add the onion and the orange zest.  Mix well and cook until onions are fragrant and translucent (about 5 minutes).
  • Pour in the crushed tomatoes.  Fill the can about 1/3 full with water to rinse out the residue, then dump that into the pot to thin things out a bit.
  • Bring to a boil, then simmer for 10 minutes or so.
  • Add salt to taste.
  • Stir in the ginger, then cook for 10-15 more minutes.
  • If you’re feeling fancy, now would be a good time to puree the soup with a stick blender or transfer it in batches to a regular blender.  My stick blender is broken, so I’m skipping this step.
  • Stir in the coconut milk or cream.  Taste and add more salt if necessary. Serves 4-6.

E’s original recipe called for adding cooked shrimp along with the tomatoes and ginger, and this variation is quite good if you’re looking for a chunkier entree soup, but I liked the base so much on its own I never do that anymore.  The ginger and orange and tomato combine to make a really bright flavor, making this a great soup for the middle of winter and for when you feel like you’re coming down with a cold.

4 responses to “Tomato soup with citrus and ginger

  1. I’ve been trying to glean soup recipes, so that I can make a huge batch and then bring the leftovers to work everyday. I will try it for certain!

    • I saw your post about lunches, I’m mulling it over. Soup is always a good way to go, it’s so basic and yet so comforting and this is a good one.

      There is always what I think I will bring for lunch and then what I actually make for lunch when under the gun of getting out the door for an 8:30 class. What’s this nifty new job?

  2. I’m doing research and a small bit of copywriting for a coupon company.

  3. Pingback: Tomato-Citrus Soup « Pasticcio Mio

Leave a Reply

