Wild rice and mushroom pilaf

Yes, that's an egg on top

While moussaka really hits its stride on Day 4, I draw the line at eating it for both lunch and dinner.  So it was time for the “turn whatever you have in the house into dinner” challenge.

What I had in the house was 2 slices of leftover bacon, a package of dried shiitake mushrooms, some wild rice bought ages ago in an ambitious whole foods run, and some white and green onion.  Not bad at all.  I modified this recipe, soaking the shiitake mushrooms and using the water for the broth, leaving out the almonds, adding some chopped green onions at the end to brighten it, and topping it with an over-easy egg.  It made a lot of leftovers, and I’m betting it will taste really good as a side dish to pork later in the weekend.  I even have some dried cranberries and pecans around – maybe I can stuff pork chops with it?  Thoughts?

Two final notes:  1) The wild rice was ready after about 35 minutes in the oven, I like it pretty firm.  2) However, this means that the broth did not all absorb, so I used a slotted spoon when serving.

One response to “Wild rice and mushroom pilaf

  1. I think that would be a great stuffing for pork chops.

Leave a Reply

