That sardine-avocado sandwich

I don’t enjoy watching Alton Brown call himself disgusting on television, and I’m not on the smoothies! instead! of! meals! bandwagon, but I do trust that his food is going to taste really good and I can get behind both sardines and avocados. Hence, I tried The Sandwich, courtesy of Serious Eats. I didn’t need to make four sandwiches at the same time, so I adapted the recipe somewhat.

  • 1 can of sardines packed in oil, drained and oil reserved in a little bowl (this is enough for 2 sandwiches)
  • A little bit of lemon zest and 1/2 lemon cut into wedges
  • Half a leftover avocado from when I made this bitchin’ salad with grilled steak the other day (also an Alton Brown recipe).
  • Splash of red wine vinegar
  • Some chopped fresh parsley – a few sprigs-worth
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper
  • 1 piece of hearty bread per sandwich

This makes enough for two sandwiches, so I’ll put the sardine mixture in the fridge until tomorrow…or later.

So the directions are:  Make a happy little salad dressing with lemon zest, parsley, sardine oil, salt, pepper.  Rub a little on the bread and toast it.  Stick the rest of the sardines in the dressing and mash them with a fork. Mash the avocado onto the toasted bread, top with sardine mixture, squeeze a little more lemon on, salt, and devour.  I would eat this again and again.   Photos after the jump – I normally lead with them, but I feel that they will make P. gag, so I’m being nice.Sardines marinating in lemon vinaigrette

Sardine mixture marinating with the lemon, parsley, and vinegar.

Sardine and avocado sandwich

Finished sandwich. Not the prettiest or most portable lunch, but it’s in the running for tastiest.

3 responses to “That sardine-avocado sandwich

  1. I’ve had the urge lately to try sardines. What would you say is their taste relationship to tuna?

    • This recipe would be the way to go with trying sardines for the first time.

      I think of tuna as having a stronger smell and taste, but maybe what I’m thinking of is tuna’s firmer, meatier texture? Sardines are much more delicate, but you still know you are eating fish.

  2. I just made the sandwich. HOLY MOLEY They are so friggin’ good!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

