Leftover flatiron steak fajitas + a glass of Bitch

Leftover fajitas

Last night I used Martha Stewart’s recipe to make fajitas.  Incongruous, I know, but that lady tests her stuff and does not let non-delicious things go out the door.  Her cookbooks might not change your life, but you know that when you make her stuff the recipe will not fail.

So here’s what I did.  Martha recommends flank steak, which is the usual fajita meat, but I had 1 lb. of lovely flatiron steak.  You should totally click that link and find out how they discovered this amazing, tender cut of meat using science.

About an hour before I was going to cook the steak, I took it out of the fridge to marinate and to allow it to come to room temperature.  I rubbed it with a mix of 1 tsp. chili powder, 1/4 tsp. cumin, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, some salt, some pepper,  and a little bit of olive oil.  I added a splash of red wine vinegar since I felt a marinade could use a little bit of acidity.  I covered it with plastic wrap and let it sit.

Now if you wanted to add lime juice, fresh chopped cilantro, and/or garlic to this marinade, you could not possibly go wrong.

Then I cut up 2 bell peppers (1 red, 1 yellow) into long strips.  I also sliced an onion into strips and chopped 2 fat cloves of garlic.  I sauteed these in a little bit of olive oil until the onion was browned and the peppers were tender but not floppy.  I shook some salt over the skillet and squeezed the juice of a lime over everything.  I put the onions and peppers in a dish and covered them with foil.

Then I grilled the steak in a very hot grill pan, about 3 minutes on each side until they were nice and rare.  I covered them with foil and let them rest for 5-6 minutes or so.  I sliced the steak against the grain.

I topped the fajitas with pico de gallo and my new favorite way to make guacamole – chunks of avocado, a green onion, salt, and a squeeze of lime.  The avocado looks a bit manky in the picture because I made everything last night, trust me when I say it tastes fine.

It was excellent with a glass of Bitch, a saucy grenache drunk from the Halloween novelty glasses.

A glass of Bitch

4 responses to “Leftover flatiron steak fajitas + a glass of Bitch

  1. I totally thought that when you said Bitch, you meant metaphorically speaking. I was wrong.

  2. I stumbled onto your blog TODAY and made this TONIGHT. Just had to come back and say: oh. my. yum. delicious. amazing. thank you:)

    simple and fresh and really pretty on a plate too!

    Thanks:)

Leave a Reply

