Word of the day: Atavistic

It’s time to buy camera batteries, so I’ll have to tell instead of showing.

Tonight I took a beautiful lamb chop purchased from the Paulina Meat Market, rubbed it with sea salt, olive oil, a clove of chopped garlic, oregano, mint, and the juice of half a lemon and let it sit until it came to room temperature.  Then I grilled it in a very hot grill pan for 12-14 minutes, covered it with foil and let it rest. It came out a perfect, tender medium rare.

I chopped three more cloves of garlic and softened them in a little bit of butter in a wide skillet, then added a bunch of spinach, some salt, and a squeeze from the other half of the lemon and let the spinach wilt.

I served it with a few crumbles of Bulgarian goat feta and a glass of red, and tried not to grunt when I ate.

2 responses to “Word of the day: Atavistic

  1. Hi!

    I was wondering if you could give me some tips on where to buy pastured chickens and grass-fed meat and all that in Chicago – since we seem to be living in the same neighborhood. I love the Paulina meat market (especially since they sell lot’s of German and Austrian food products) but are they getting their meat from local farmers?

    • I don’t know where Paulina Market’s stuff comes from, but I bet they’d tell you if you emailed them!

      I get almost all of my meat from Crystal at C&D Family Farms. She works out of the Lincoln Square and Andersonville Farmer’s Markets during the summer and then sells out of her van on Tuesday mornings in the Square and Tuesday afternoons in A’ville. Check her out – amazing food. Great eggs, too.

Leave a Reply

