Indonesia

Last meal in Bali

Indonesia and the U.S. are strengthening educational ties.

This makes me want to get on a plane and go teach film classes in Indonesia for a year.  When winter returns to Chicago, double that.  In the meantime, it gives me the excuse to post pictures of things I ate and saw in Indonesia.  The dinner above is from a seafood place on the beach in Bali.  The cab driver taking me to the airport insisted that I go before leaving the country, and arranged to pick me up in enough time so I could have one last great meal before flying out.  You pick your fish out of a tank, they kill it and grill it for you and serve it with a big pile of spinach.  I had a squid and some tiger shrimp.

It’s a big world.  Go eat and drink it in.

4 responses to “Indonesia

  1. That cab driver is Good People.

    • It’s possible he got some kind of kickback from the restaurant – AS HE DESERVED AND AS GOD INTENDED

  2. jealous! When were you in Indonesia? Yum. I love trying new food in exotic locations.

    • I went at the end of 2006/beginning of 2007- about three weeks, staying with my old friend Mike who was stationed there for the Foreign Service. Brilliant trip!

Leave a Reply

