How to be a bridesmaid

L. (The Bride): Do you want to go to Hot Doug’s tomorrow and then come pick up/try on your bridesmaid’s dress?
Me: Yes.

Our tradition (usually practiced on Mondays during the summer) is to order three sausages split in half so we can have few bites of multiple kinds.  Sausages, from left to right:

  • The Atomic Ribeye: Damn Spicy Ribeye Steak Sausage with Horseradish Cream Sauce and Crispy Fried Onions
  • Catalonian Pork Sausage with Saffron Rouille and Mantoro Cheese
  • Hungarian Smoked Pork Sausage with Smoked Paprika Mustard and Mustard Seed Gouda Cheese

I’m really tempted by the Portabella Mushroom and Swiss Cheese Pork Sausage with Blue Cheese Dijonnaise and Shiitake Mushrooms sauteed in Duck Fat.  Maybe next time.

If anyone knows a reliable place for alterations either downtown or on the North Side of Chicago, let me know.

11 responses to “How to be a bridesmaid

  1. I was very happy with A-1 Tailor in Evanston on Main.

  2. The Catalonian is still the sausage of my heart, but daaaaamn that Hungarian made a good bid for being my sausage secret lover.

    • I think I’ll be sneaking around with the Bleu Cheese pork with the pear-almond stuff and the Merguez lamb when Toulouse or Catalonian aren’t looking.

  3. Are those tater tots? Is Hot Doug making tater tots? If so, I’m taking a personal day soon — like tomorrow.

    • Yes, Hot Doug’s makes perfect carmelized crunchy salty tater tots! They’re on the children’s menu, but grownups can order them.

  4. That is a big hotdog…

Leave a comment